Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Changing colors: what do I do wrong?
Hello,

I'm new at using GIMP, so probably the answer is easy, but I can't find out what I do wrong. who can help me?

Attached a xcf file with a world map. I would like to change the color of South America to blue.

I have selected South America with
Tools - selection - oval  (remark: I use a Dutch language version, so maybe some translations aren't accurate)

Then
right clic - colors - tint/saturation

In the pop-up screen I select "Green"
and move the 'tint' indicator to value 130.  In this pop-up, the color next to "G" indeed turns blue.

Finally I press OK, and expect South America to become blue, but nothing happens. What goes wrong?

Who can shine light in my darkness?  Thanks already.

Filip

Attached Files
.xcf   1016x477.xcf (Size: 836.55 KB / Downloads: 434)
Are you sure you have the map layer selected ? Because in your xcf file, there is also a transparent layer, which is active.
Make sure you leftclick on the map layer, so that it is selected, before you apply Hue/Saturation.
As Espermaschine said you probably had the wrong layer selected.

In Gimp there is usually more than one way to achieve something. Here is another method.

1. Select South America. Use the Free Select tool and keep your selection out in the white sea.

2. Select the Select By Colour tool. In the tool options set the Mode to Intersect With Current Selection - the 4th option

3. Click on the green inside South Amerca. The green in South America is selected, the white lines are excluded.

4. Set the foreground colour to the blue that you want.

5. Bucket fill the selection with blue.
That image started off as a vector (svg) graphic so the best way would be a vector editor such as inkscape
However
Yet another way using Gimp and this only works because the background is white.

Make a rough selection http://imgur.com/9l2HIdr.jpg