Gimp-Forum.net
xcf to pdf - Printable Version

+- Gimp-Forum.net (https://www.gimp-forum.net)
+-- Forum: GIMP (https://www.gimp-forum.net/Forum-GIMP)
+--- Forum: General questions (https://www.gimp-forum.net/Forum-General-questions)
+--- Thread: xcf to pdf (/Thread-xcf-to-pdf)

xcf to pdf - tanda - 03-23-2017

Hello, 
somebody did a poster for me in GIMP and we need to print it both in format A3 and A4. I usually export the file in ps by setting the X offset and the Y offset to 0, then use ps2pdf (if needed with the option -sPAPERSIZE=a3) to produce a pdf file. The X offset=0 and Y offset=0 were to eliminate a white border all around the ps file, but it does not seem to work, as in fact the ps file does contain a white border on top. 

I really do not care about the intermediate ps file, as all I want is a pdf that can be printed both in A3 and in A4. Can you help me, please? You might have noticed that I am really a rookie trying to get by... Thanks.

RE: xcf to pdf - rich2005 - 03-23-2017

Welcome to gimp-forum.net

Problem - not many (any) OSX users here. However

What pixel dimensions is the poster in Gimp? Are they 'A' proportions 1: root(2)? The standard Gimp A3 template @ 300 ppi is 3508 x 4960 pix. If the height is a bit off then that would account for a border at the top. A quick test and that is what happens here in linux.

An alternative to ps2pdf might be ImageMagick. The Gimp file is bitmap anyway so export to png. This would produce a PDF to size

Code:
convert A3.png  -compress jpeg -resize 3508x4960 -units PixelsPerInch -density 150x150 poster.pdf

or whatever ppi value you desire. That will stretch the image and eliminate the 'border'

RE: xcf to pdf - tanda - 03-24-2017