Gimp-Forum.net
Moving content between existing layers - Printable Version

+- Gimp-Forum.net (https://www.gimp-forum.net)
+-- Forum: GIMP (https://www.gimp-forum.net/Forum-GIMP)
+--- Forum: General questions (https://www.gimp-forum.net/Forum-General-questions)
+--- Thread: Moving content between existing layers (/Thread-Moving-content-between-existing-layers)

Pages: 1 2

Moving content between existing layers - willip4 - 03-31-2018

Hi,

I am completely new to Gimp. I have a very simple image made of up two layers.  My image is too large to post as an attacbment

I want to cut and move some of the content on one of the existing layers to the other existing layer and vice and versa.

I have been reading up and can see information about the Select Float technique but this is not working. I tried cut and paste as new layer and then merge down but this just seems to move the section I cut out and not the image content.

I would just like to understand.
1) How I should select the content I want to move. I have been using the paths tool and then selecting the path.
2) How I can permanently move the selected content from my first layer to my second layer including the content on the screen.

I am feeling very slow at the moment!

Any help or pointers to existing tutorials would be much appreciated.

Cheers,
Willip4

RE: Moving content between existing layers - Espermaschine - 03-31-2018

make a selection, copy, paste

RE: Moving content between existing layers - willip4 - 03-31-2018

(03-31-2018, 09:50 AM)Espermaschine Wrote: make a selection, copy, paste

Thanks for the prompt response.  When you say make a selection - how do I do this?
When you say paste - how do I paste onto an existing layer?

I attach a screen shot of my gimp image

I want to move the black lines from layer 2 to 1

I also want to move content from 1 to layer 2.

Countless ways to make a selection: