Gimp-Forum.net
Animation - Printable Version

+- Gimp-Forum.net (https://www.gimp-forum.net)
+-- Forum: GIMP (https://www.gimp-forum.net/Forum-GIMP)
+--- Forum: General questions (https://www.gimp-forum.net/Forum-General-questions)
+--- Thread: Animation (/Thread-Animation--5666)

Pages: 1 2 3

Animation - Burnhard - 06-01-2021

Hi, my first post on the forum and I'm really new to Gimp, so bare with me please.
I want to make an animated Gif, I have the basic concept and managed to animate and export, but it took so long and I never compleated the project, my problem is, I'm trying to animate two wheels, so I use the elipse tool to select, then shift and R to rotate the first wheel and that works fine, but, when I select the next wheel it selects fine, but won't rotate and the first wheel disapears, I'm sure there must be an easy way to do this, but I've got to the point where I'm fed up of trying different ways and forgot how I managed to do my first little animation, tied myself up in knots, I think, could any kind person give me a little advice?

RE: Animation - rickk - 06-01-2021

(06-01-2021, 04:03 PM)Burnhard Wrote: use the elipse tool to select, then shift and R to rotate the first wheel and that works fine, but, when I select the next wheel it selects fine, but won't rotate and  the first wheel disapears, 

Sounds to me like you've got a floating selection (transformation).

Look over on the right hand side of the application window and there should be a "layers dialog", with the image name you are working on, and   another layer named "floating selection" above it. Try right clicking on the floating selection, and selecting "Anchor Layer" from the menu that pops.

RE: Animation - Burnhard - 06-01-2021

(06-01-2021, 05:14 PM)rickk Wrote: