Gimp-Forum.net
New to gimp, having trouble importing images - Printable Version

+- Gimp-Forum.net (https://www.gimp-forum.net)
+-- Forum: GIMP (https://www.gimp-forum.net/Forum-GIMP)
+--- Forum: General questions (https://www.gimp-forum.net/Forum-General-questions)
+--- Thread: New to gimp, having trouble importing images (/Thread-New-to-gimp-having-trouble-importing-images)

New to gimp, having trouble importing images - Thereaper214! - 11-20-2023

I am new to gimp and having some troubles viewing/editing the images in the same way as the tutorial I am following. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T0T_Jj_6n2E

As seen in the first couple seconds of the video, I should be able to drag and drop an image on top of a new layer, once I have created a blank 1920x1080 layer. This was working but I think I changed one of my settings so this is no longer happening! I tried to reset all settings to default but have not had any luck. Could someone please provide some insight.

Steps:
Open Gimp -> File -> New -> Ok -> drag and drop image from finder

Feel free to judge. I could be stupid!

RE: New to gimp, having trouble importing images - rich2005 - 11-20-2023

(11-20-2023, 08:55 AM)Thereaper214! Wrote: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T0T_Jj_6n2E

As seen in the first couple seconds of the video, I should be able to drag and drop an image on top of a new layer, once I have created a blank 1920x1080 layer. This was working but I think I changed one of my settings so this is no longer happening! I tried to reset all settings to default but have not had any luck. 
Steps:  Open Gimp -> File -> New -> Ok -> drag and drop image from finder

Difficult to see, your screen makes the added layer look more like a copy / pasted layer (1) than a dropped-in layer (2).

[attachment=10627]

There is a setting to turn off layer dock previews but that applies to all layers including the background layer. ..so I do not think it is that.