Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
gimpfu not detected by pylance
Hi, I'm pretty new to gimp plugins, and I wanted to play around with developing some specific plugins for my project. When I run vscode, however, pylance does not detect gimpfu. That's weird, since my interpreter is set to the python version in GIMP's bin. Additionally, the plugins do work when I run them in the application, so gimpfu exists somewhere. But without any familiarity with the documentation, developing kind of feels kinda blind... Undecided

GIMP version: 2.10
Python path: C:\Program Files\GIMP 2\bin\python.exe

Is there any way I can fix or troubleshoot this problem? I'm not sure where to start. I'm trying to see if gimpfu can work in WSL, if that works I can just move the plugins over to Windows. Thanks in advance.
Gimpfu only exists in the Gimp environment. It has a cascade of import dependencies (see /usr/lib/gimp/2.0/python/, and some of them are binaries (.so in Linux, likely .dll in windows) and these need an environment set up by Gimp to import correctly. Maybe you can copy the python files and remove a few imports to at least have an importable source for your IDE (never tried, I use a plain editor).

In any case this will only help with auto-completion, because the plugin has to run in a python module started by Gimp, so it won't run in your debug environment for instance.

This said, debugging under Linux is a lot easier than debugging under Windows because if you start Gimp from a command prompt, all messages from Gimp and the plugins appear in the command prompt.

Also see: Debugging python-fu scripts in Windows (which despite its title contains hints that are also useful on Linux/WSL)