Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
image with various objects
Hello everyone
I am new to Gimp. I am not familiar with much of the terms so I couldn't research my question. I hope someone here will help me.
What is called an image with various objects of the same theme? I suppose such objects are meant for extraction as separate images to be used singularly. If so, how to do that using gimp? 

Thank you a lot

Daddaj
If you have the gimp plug-in GMIC you can use A filter in there to separate images and another one to put them together. (Pack) does that. I have only used the other filter once and cannot think of the name right now.
Layers - seamless will put images together on one layer or separate layers if you wish. I have used it after placing all images where I want them, I have found the need to be locked into place though

Image with various objects could be called many htings. One is a composite, montage

What is a photomontage? Photomontage work includes various types of image editing in which multiple photographs are cut up and combined to form one new image.

Smile
Gimp is a raster (bitmap) editor and "objects" are more associated with vector applications such as Inkscape.

There is one case where you might get a series of "objects" for an animation, a "sprite-sheet" where a series of drawings are uniformly spaced out either in a strip or a grid pattern.

Separating the drawings from the background might be easy or difficult. It might be easy if each drawing is on its own layer or it is drawn on a plain colour background. The more complicated the background then it becomes more difficult to separate part of a drawing.

Gimp has some tools for this, example the foreground select tool: https://docs.gimp.org/2.10/en/gimp-tool-...elect.html

If you can give an example of your requirements, you will get a better answer.