Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
35mm negative scanning
Newbie here.

Just started using Gimp after loosing use of old PS program and am trying to enlarge a 35mm B/W negative that was scanned in from a 600 dpi Canon.  I know, it's a cheapie but that's all I have.

Have not been able (so far) to figure out the 'canvas size' and 'image size' in order to enlarge it to at least 4" x 6", 5" x 7" or 8" x 10".

Also having trouble adjusting levels/curves/etc. to get the image looking better.

Thank you in advance and I feel sure I'll be back with more questions.

[attachment=7471]
For the size: https://www.gimp-forum.net/Thread-Image-size-in-Gimp

For the negative, you start with a "negative curve" (top left to bottom right) in Curves. A slight S shape increase contrast:

...or if hands-on-curves is not your thing, there is the negative - darkroom filter
see: https://www.gimp-forum.net/Thread-Turn-p...9#pid27909
(02-13-2022, 05:27 PM)Ofnuts Wrote: For the size: https://www.gimp-forum.net/Thread-Image-size-in-Gimp

For the negative, you start with a "negative curve" (top left to bottom right) in Curves. A slight S shape increase contrast:

Thanks for your reply.
May not have been too clear in my post.  Did my attachment come through?  I scanned it in, opened it with Gimp, inverted the image and played around with curves, levels, etc. to make it not so blotchy.  Not too successful.  The negatives are pretty old so I'm not sure if that may be the problem or not.  I found a link for scanning with a flattop that said:  place on scanner, cover with sheet of white paper, place bright light (desk lamp), scan at highest resolution (600).  The only addition I added is a glass pane over the negative to flatten it.  Put that directly on the negative and paper on top with bright light.  Is there a better way?