Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
A little overwhelmed
Wink 
Hey all,

I feel as if I needed a little dingy and ended up getting some sort of super-tanker! Big Grin 

What is the best way to get to grips with what GIMP has to offer?  I'm not a professional photographer or anything like that - I just want to be able to manipulate photos and images for use on my blog.

I also have a more specific question that I'd like to ask.

I'm trying to create a title bar image for use on my blog pages.  Nothing fancy, just a rectangle with rounded corners and a gradient colour.  The problem I'm having is being able to save just the image (and not the background).  I have done some digging and tried to find a solution to this but it didn't work - I added an alpha channel (whatever one of those is!), inverted the selection and pressed delete.  This changed the background to the checkered pattern that I was expecting.  I then exported the image in png format.  All well and good I thought.  However, when I open the image it still has a white background!  What am I doing wrong?

Thanks,
Richie
Gimp has a steep learning curve so stick at it. Best way to get to grips? Just keep experimenting, use the Gimp docs when required https://docs.gimp.org/2.10/en/

I can not see anything wrong with your procedure for a "Title bar" An alpha channel is just a mask that the display application uses to 'hide' part of the image.  A customary way to display this is the checker pattern but not always, very much depends on the display application.

Here is the same image in three different programs: top displays white, middle checker, bottom (a web browser ) black.

Take your pick Wink
Open the png image up again in Gimp. Does it have the checker pattern. Then it is ok. The real check is when you add to your web page.

Quote:All well and good I thought. However, when I open the image it still has a white background! What am I doing wrong?