Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Batch processing question
Hi everyone,

first post here - please be gentle :-)

I have a number of images and I'd like to add a white border around them to make them look more like a photograph. Can I use a batch process for that or will I need to do one at a time?

Thanks!
You can certainly do them one at a time. To help there is top of the Filters menu "Repeat.." option to speed things up a little.

The only recent 'configurable' batch plugin for Gimp is one called BIMP and AFAIK nobody has compiled one for a Mac since the old lisnenet OSX versions.

That leaves a dedicated plugin. I hunted all over for a script without luck (Google must be tired of the same question asked n-number ways) and had to pull out an old template python script to modify.  That is attached, but very-hands-on. I am not good at scripting. 
Select the folder with the photos, you can change the width but the border colour is white. Edit the script to change that Wink screenshot: https://i.imgur.com/qqTxdeJ.jpg

This works in linux, no guarantees that it works in a Mac. Unzip, put the file newborder.py in your user Gimp plug-ins folder. Check that it is executable. The menu entry is Tools -> newborder

A better bet is not Gimp. Use XnViewMP which has a batch process for selected images, including an add border filter.  There is a Mac DMG here: https://newsgroup.xnview.com/viewtopic.php?f=82&t=40169

Attached Files
.zip   newborder.zip (Size: 830 bytes / Downloads: 166)
Hi rich2005,

that is awesome that you took so much time to help me out - it is greatly appreciated!

I couldn't quite get this script to work. Not all effort was wasted though, since I can look at your script and learn a lot from it. Never even knew you could create your own GIMP scripts [Image: shy.png]

For the current project, I have about 45 images, so I guess, doing them by hand is going to take less time than trying to get this done in a more elegant way.