Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Cannot load .svg to label to images
Hello, i am trying to add an .svg label to images using Python-fu, but getting an unhelpful error code when trying to load the .svg

My console text:

➤> pdb.gimp_path_import(image, "label.svg", TRUE, FALSE)

the error:

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "<input>", line 1, in <module>
RuntimeError: execution error

I am guessing this is a path problem.  New to this stuff, any tips would be appreciated, thanks!
Well, I am no expert either, best wait for Ofnuts to come along. In the meantime this works for me in linux - kubuntu 20.04 / Gimp 2.10.36 from PPA

Code:
➤> image = gimp.image_list()[0]
➤> pdb.gimp_vectors_import_from_file(image,"2.svg", False, False)
➤>

Trying to get everything into a single screenshot. Keeping it simple. 2.svg is a plain SVG from inkscape and is in my home folder.

(12-26-2023, 04:38 AM)Someone Wrote: Hello, i am trying to add an .svg label to images using Python-fu, but getting an unhelpful error code when trying to load the .svg

My console text:

the error:

I am guessing this is a path problem.  New to this stuff, any tips would be appreciated, thanks!

"label.svg" doesn't tell where the file is, since there is no path component. So this is normally interpreted as "in the current working directory", which is, depending on how Gimp was started: 
  • the user's home directory on Linux (if started from a desktop icon)
  • the CWD of the terminal (if started by entering gimp in a Linux terminal),
  • (IIRC) the directory of the .EXE (on Windows)
You can retrieve this information using os.getcwd() (you of course have to import os).

In practice, depending on source:
  • If the file can be anywhere, set up a parameter with a PF_FILENAME type to have a file selector,
  • If the file is somewhere in the Gimp profile you can find the location of the profile in gimp.directory