Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Checkerboard.. why?
I loaded an RGB image which I added an Alpha channel to and then decomposed it. I pasted another image into the alpha channel and then did a compose into an RGBA image. At this point the image it shows me on the screen now has a checkerboard pattern on it even though none of the channels had any transparent areas. I saved the image as a png. If I open it with a different program it appears normal. If I open it with Gimp, it as the checkerboard pattern on it.

I am new to Gimp, so I would lke to know what this is indicating and how to remove it?
The checker pattern indicates transparency.

Your work-flow is a bit strange but anything you paste into the decomposed alpha = various degrees of opacity The alpha channel is a mask where Black = transparent, White = opaque, Anything in between = degrees of semi-transparent.

Some image viewers will show transparency (usually as a checker pattern) but some do not.

You can get the same effect if you add a layer mask (white) Layer > Mask > Add layer mask to the first image and paste the second image into that.

Want to lose the pattern ? Get rid of the alpha channel Layer > Transparency > Remove Alpha Channel .

Need the alpha channel but not the pattern, It can be set to white in Edit > Preferences > Interface > Display then the Transparency Check style drop down menu
(04-05-2022, 02:27 PM)rich2005 Wrote: The checker pattern indicates transparency.

Your work-flow is a bit strange but anything you paste into the decomposed alpha = various degrees of opacity The alpha channel is a mask where Black = transparent, White = opaque, Anything in between =  degrees of semi-transparent.  

Some image viewers will show transparency (usually as a checker pattern) but some do not.

You can get the same effect if you add a layer mask (white) Layer > Mask > Add layer mask to the first image and paste the second image into that.