Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Clone problems colour doesn't match the source
Having real problems again 

Was using clone and for some reason the colour is now slightly different than the source  sometimes lighter sometimes darker depending what I'm trying to cover 
I probably clicked on something by accident as this seems to happen to me .

I don't know if there is any thing you can click on that takes everything back to default settings when originally installed as that would be a great help.

Did once before uninstall and re install but that didn't help as it remembered my last settings.

I'm a real novice (idiot ) as far as tech goes .

Thanks in advance Kev  

Gimp 2.10.34_2

Windows 10 pro version 22H2

Attached Files Thumbnail(s)

Have we not been here before ? You have everything + the kitchen sink as tabs on the left side dock.

That might be great for someone who has been using Gimp every day for the last five years but really the best way is use the default set up until gain experience. It goes this way
In Gimp
Edit -> Preferences -> Interface -> Window Management and click on Reset Saved Window Positions to Default Values
and
Edit -> Preferences -> Tool Options then Reset Saved Tool Options to Default Values
Restart Gimp

example: https://i.imgur.com/wTXaZfY.mp4

When it comes to the clone tool, not really able to comment since since no clone tool options are showing and it depends on the mode. If it is 'Aligned' then the clone source moves with the brush. If it is 'Fixed' then there is a possibility of an optical illusion where a grey can appear lighter or darker depending on the surrounding colour.

Get your interface sorted, send a screenshot showing the clone tool with the tool options.
Thanks have just found a video on YouTube showing how to reset tools so have edited my post but didn't realise there had been a reply .

Still have the colour difference but will take a look at your advice.

Thanks again