Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Compose not seeing layers
Folks,
I'm a self taught GIMP user, please be gentle!
I'm painting car templates for a racing simulator called iRacing.  iRacing has Spec Maps which add Chrome and Roughness to the image.
The template contains layers for RG and B Channels.  They are setup to work in Photoshop which can handle layers in Greyscale.  These layers work in such a way that they merge to make a combination, which doesn't work in GIMPS RGB only way.
However, there is a work around which is to copy the image, make it's mode Greyscale and then Compose the R,G and B channels, adjusting the greyscale to your liking.  We export the file into the program as a TGA.

The Problem is this: If I make a fresh project this process seems to work fine.  However my old projects don't always work, when composing I only see a "Mask Layer" option.  Why is it not seeing the other layers that exist in the XCF file?
Kind Regards,
Rowdy.
How do you save your "old" projects? If you don' t save them as XCF the layers are lost.

Otherwise you can work with a setup like this:
  • The Groups and "Blue" are in "Addition" mode
  • The Groups are made of a Color layer in "Multiply" mode, plus your actual work layer (in "Normal" mode)
  • At the bottom the layer mask of the Alpha layer dictates the alpha channel of the whole image

To work on a specific layer more comfortably you can make most of the rest invisible:

You can also split an existing TGA into a similar setup if necessary (but I have no time to describe how right now).

See XCF attached.

Attached Files
.xcf   iRacerTemplate.xcf (Size: 1,022.78 KB / Downloads: 130)
OfNuts, thanks for the response, it does seem to work as a merging rather than a hierarchical layering.  Is the solution to that by changing the layer property to "Multiply" and the Groups to addition?  I do save them as XCF's.
I will try to send either my problematic file or an example of the way the Spec map layers are formatted.