Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Creating text (layer?) presets/profile?
Hey GIMP community, I am fairly new to GIMP but I might already have a rare question. Trying to process my photos from different countries and I'd like to add a text (name of the particular place and country) to the bottom right corner of all pictures. As much as I can I'd like to have this text in exact same spot with pretty much same settings (font, size, location) that I'd always need just to type the name of the place.
I've wondered if there are some sort 'presets' or profiles available in GIMP as they are, let's say, in RawTherapee for example?
Second solution, if I am not mistaken, could be creating a text "layer" with a text box and transparent background which I'd save as a project and could always add later on?
Or is there any other way I am not aware, yet? Thanks a lot for any advice.
There are scripts around that will add text to an image. Tend to be a bit inflexible or add unwanted extras such as borders.
Assuming all your photographs are the same size, try a template as a starter.

Make a new blank image the same size as the photographs.
Add the text and any other items you might want. Just a suggestion but put the text layer in a layer group. Text in bottom right? If you go that way and a fixed position make sure the text has sufficient room for all possibilities. There is an option to lock position and size of any layer. example: https://i.imgur.com/B2SYUD7.jpg

In use? Although a template, safer to open the photograph first (keeps the image name that way) then add the template using File -> Open as Layers
example: https://i.imgur.com/IBzlwt3.mp4
(edit: doing it the hard way Wink once the template is set up, make the base layer transparent or just delete it rather than moving the photograph layer)

Another example, this one with a transparent layer as the background, needed to keep the overall positions of text & other layers.
https://i.imgur.com/iSd2AUt.mp4
Wink