Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Cut squares from iamge
Hi

Is there a way in GIMP or a plugin, script, ... to extract all the black squares from this image automatically to separate PNG files?
So I need a folder that has all squares (no matter if the square is empty or not) saved as 1.png, 2.png, 3.png, ... from this image
I need step by step instructions because I'm a beginner

My GIMP file is here:

https://www.mediafire.com/view/zh9zdytld...t.xcf/file

Image preview:

https://ibb.co/SvBJGfb

Why can't we attach a file here on the forum (file is under 100kb in zip file)?
Error: Request Entity Too Large

The requested resource does not allow request data with POST requests, or the amount of data provided in the request exceeds the capacity limit.
The file size attachment limits are 500KB (png / jpeg ...) or 2 MB for a gimp .xcf

Chopping it up might be possible using a set of guides. Attaching an old script that creates guides by number or spacing. I think your image is 150 px squares

Then a couple of Ofnuts python plugins from  http://sourceforge.net/projects/gimp-too...s/scripts/
ofn-guillotine-layer (dated 2017-04-30) to chop up into layers and ofn-export-layers (dated 2023-10-24) which does what it says.

The attached file test.xcf.gz as an example has the grid of guides. I had to move the top layer a little to line it up. Then applied guillotine Open it in Gimp and have a look.

Remember to unzip the scrip which goes in your User scripts folder. It registers in Image -> Guides -> Grid
The python plugins go in the plug-ins folder. Unzip and read the help files.

Attached Files
.zip   guides-grid.zip (Size: 1.02 KB / Downloads: 109)
.gz   test.xcf.gz (Size: 206.76 KB / Downloads: 30)
Hi

Thanks a lot! But is it possible to give me an overview step by step of what you did and in what order (+ settings for everything you used)?