Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Cutting pieces, can't eliminate border
I am trying to make an image of a puzzle with different colored pieces.  In the example attached, I've cut out 2 white and 2 black pieces and put into layers.  Showing those 4 layers, we see the puzzle pattern/outline.  I don't want that.  I have the puzzle template as an svg and can't get the paths so narrow that they won't show in the final output, but not so narrow (or nonexistent) that the fuzzy select will still work.  
I am a newbie so verbose help would be appreciated.
Thanks.

Attached Files
.xcf   BlkWhitePuzzleExample.xcf (Size: 363.01 KB / Downloads: 230)
Do you have more requirements? For example do the individual pieces have to be on separate layers? Is the intention to move them around?

While a path can be sub-pixel (it has no width) When rendered it will conform to pixel boundaries so you do tend to get gaps. 

For a not-so-quick way.

The paths combined and stroked to give a faint 1 pixel outline on a base layer.
A fill layer over that. Each tile selected (sample merged), grow selection 1 pix (make a key shortcut to bypass the menu)
Fill the selection.

I did start to redraw the tiles as individual interlocking paths, but life-is-too-short Wink  I am sure there will be better solutions by others.
My first thought is to do the whole thing as vector graphics, and then to export the final result as a png.

The ideal would be to have a path for each individual puzzle piece. That would have a fill and no stroke. But I don't know Inkscape well enough to do that. Try asking at http://www.inkscapeforum.com
Hi,

I've had a go which may be of use if you are OK with all jigsaw pieces on one or two layers. If you want one piece per layer then this is no good.

My result is attached below.

I tweaked the jigsaw paths so they can be selected by changing them from lines to rectangles by joining pairs of lines at the ends. Then merged all the jigsaw paths.