Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Equalize reflection of photo of polaroid photo?
Question 
Hello all,

I'm still a beginner when it comes to GIMP, so I'm hoping that someone more experienced can give me easy to follow-instructions on how to solve this issue.

Recently I took a polaroid photo that got lost (probably just vanished in someone's pocket) and the person it was meant for got very sad. Luckily I took a picture of the polaroid with my digicam and now I'm trying to construct a "fake polaroid" by printing the picture out on shiny paper and glueing it to a real one.

The only problem is the reflection of myself holding the camera in the photo. I'm fairly sure it should be possible to make the "background" (=the photo) and the "foreground" (my reflection) the same color, but don't know which setting that would be. It should be doable since it's all black and white.

Thanks in advance for your help!

https://ibb.co/Trm6fdm <- here is the link to the photo, since attachment and embedding somehow  won't work.
What I did (a fast edit):
Copy the photo to 2 new layers (let say layer 1 and 2)
Use layer 1 'Colours / Treshold' use the slider so you only see the reflection
Select the reflection (black) from the treshold layer 1 (use the 'Fuzzy Select Tool)
Select layer 2 and delete the reflection with the selection
Set layer 1 not visible
On layer 2 set layer mode 'Multiply' and use 'Opacity' to correct the color and lightness 
Use 'Colours / Hue-Saturation' to correct the color and lightness
Make a new layer from visible (layer 3)
Correct the edge of the reflection with the 'Healing Tool' on layer 3
Use the 3 picker pipettes from the 'Colours / Levels' to adjust the colours

Dodge and Burn tool Dodge might be the tool you are searching for a quick "fix".
I recommend you made a selection of the area to fix to not bleed out.