Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Export as... PDF goes totally wrong!
Sad 
Hi there!
I've tried to open this topic here in Gimp 2.10 but I'm not allowed to start a thread there so, now I'm here. Angel

I'm a newbie in Gimp!

I've read and watch many videos about using gimp and I'm happy so far.

Now I wanted to open an existing PDF. This works. I've created 3 groups, because my already existing PDF has 3 pages in it. So every group has a site in it. (a pdf site is handled by gimp as a "picture" ... so far I know ... and that's ok so far)
To this: In each group I have a bunch auf text layers.

Everything looks fine and looks like it should be!

Now I'm going to export as... pdf ... aaaand ... it's a desaster!
Gimp creates not only all groups as a site (what it should, actually) but also all layers, too!
In gimp everything looks great and correct, all layers are "on" the picture in every group itself... but when I export all groups every single layer is created as a site in the exported single pdf document. So I have now one PDF file with lots of lots of layers as sites. Stupid, I guess. *laugh*

Now: What did I wrong?

I mean, look at the end of this video! He can do it, but not me! *sigh* (I've not reproduced his video, I just start with an already existing PDF (an official form for a public authority)

Thank you very much for helping me out of my pdf desaster. ^.^
In his video, he has one layer per page (look at the layers list).

I have this old flatten-groups script that you can use to flatten your top groups (possibly on an image duplicate) before exporting.
Hello Ofnuts!
Thank you very much for helping me. But, unfortunately, maybe I described my problem as to complicated.
I can say, his project looks like mine. and if you watch at 10:19 around, he say, every single layer would be on its own page.
Yeah this is my case, so he put every layer in groups. Gimp will handle "Layer groups" as one page in the entire pdf file.