Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Image layer tiny
I'm very new to Gimp. Just trying to print greetings cards, one image on to cardstock. I've managed to make the right sized empty page and have merged an image to it and saved it. Then managed to print it once via a different program. Almost ok but the image needs repositioning a bit. Tried to create a new one but the same image I used is opening up really small, I've checked and the scale dimensions are the same as I used previously. Is there some setting I may have changed without realising? I've closed gimp down and reopened but still having the same problem
(01-19-2023, 01:25 PM)Rakelle Wrote: I'm very new to Gimp. Just trying to print greetings cards, one image on to cardstock. I've managed to make the right sized empty page and have merged an image to it and saved it. Then managed to print it once via a different program. Almost ok but the image needs repositioning a bit. Tried to create a new one but the same image I used is opening up really small, I've checked and the scale dimensions are the same as I used previously. Is there some setting I may have changed without realising? I've closed gimp down and reopened but still having the same problem

As a first guess but I'm very new to Gimp and I've managed to make the right sized empty page often leads to fundamental mistakes. Gimp is a bitmap editor, it works in pixels.

If you make a 'right sized empty page' in centimetres then Gimp uses a pixels-per-inch (ppi) setting to convert the centimetres to pixels.

A 4 cm x 4 cm @ 72 ppi is a low quality image and a 4 cm x 4 cm @ 300 ppi is a high quality image. Both will print at 4 x 4 centimetres.

What is the size of your Gimp image in centimetres (or inches) and also in pixels ? The size in pixels is shown top of the Gimp window

Which format are you exporting the image for printing - jpeg or png or maybe PDF ?

Are you printing at home or using some on-line printing service to make the cards  ?