Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Gimp 2.10.24 reverts rect / ellipse to Expand From Center
This is something utterly new.

Since about August 10th, Gimp 2.10.24 running on Zorin OS 16 (Equiv. Ubuntu 20.04), Gimp Rectangle Select or Ellipse Select keep reverting to "Expand From Center."
This is very disruptive to work flow. I have to keep opening the tool options and changing it back. But after a short time of use, it reverts itself back, unpredictably.

What I have tried: Removing GIMP directory from ~/.config
Doing the above and Uninstalling all portions of Gimp, then removing all remaining files and directories.

Settings are essentially at Default from installation.
I have been using Gimp (a lot) for a couple of years and I have never had this happen. I wondered if it was a Keyboard Shortcut I was bumping... But that seems a stretch.
This using kubuntu 20.04 and a Gimp 2.10.25 appimage.

Deleting the user profile ~/.config/GIMP should have reset all the tools options.

However, the settings are held in ~/.config/GIMP/2.10/tool-options and a comparison between rectangular select with 'from center' and a default ellipse select is a single entry as screenshot, check what is there.

A couple of suggestions,

(1) Set Gimp up the way you want it start up, including un-ticking those expand from center options. 

Then 
Edit -> Preferences -> Tool Options 
untick 'Save tool options on exit'
Click on 'Save Tool Options Now'
At the same time 
Edit -> Preferences -> Input Devices
untick 'Save input device settings on exit'
Click on 'Save Input Device Settings Now'

Ok that and restart Gimp.

or...

(2) Go into ~/.config/GIMP/2.10/tool-options and delete the files 
gimp-ellipse-select-tool
gimp-rec-select-tool

Otherwise as you say, a bit of a mystery.
The files
    gimp-ellipse-select-tool

gimp-rec-select-tool

Do not contain "(fixed-center yes)".