Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Gimp 2.10 Type text on a circle path
Photo 
Hello everyone,
I am new to Gimp. I have the version 2.10 installed in my Windows 10 PC.
My text, along a circle path, comes always Right to Left, so I can only place the text at the bottom of the circle only
[the videos on You Tube always shows "text along Path"  from Left to Right and at the top portion of the circle]

The [modified] instructions i am following, from one of the videos on You Tube (version previous to Gimp 2.10) is as follows

1. Trace Circle & Type something
2. To path and Text along the path
------------------------------------------
3. Layers > New Layer > Transparency > OK
4. Click Selection Layer Path > Click Flip Tool > Vertical
5. Type something >< Text along Path
6. Delete [horizontal] text layers on canvas
7. On Select Menu > None
8. Rotate both text - but one is always upside down!

I have reinstalled Gimp 2.10 a couple of times but the problem persist. 

Thank you for your attn and time in helping me. 

Ricardo
rgm2000@aol.com

Attached Files Thumbnail(s)

No good reinstalling Gimp over and over. Vary rarely the problem.

Quote:..i am following, from one of the videos on You Tube (version previous to Gimp 2.10)

This can be a problem as well. Gimp 2.10 looks a bit different when it comes to some of the tools (rotate for example) and there is a bug in the selection-to-path. The direction of the path is reversed.

Quote:1. Trace Circle & Type something

This will give upside down text as your screenshot. The procedure is
Circular selection to path
Flip the path vertically (flip tool in paths mode)
Create some text and then Text-along-path.

The next bit 3 to 8 I do not really understand.

An earlier thread on the issue https://www.gimp-forum.net/Thread-Text-A...86#pid8086

and a demo video https://youtu.be/pukUIefS0xI 5 minutes.
Known bug in Gimp 2.10, the circle path is generated in the wrong direction. Possible workarounds: