Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Gimp 2.8 and 2.9 performance (brush lag)
Question 
Hello. I have been using Gimp for many years (I guess it started with 1.2 or even 1.0 version). Nothing complicated, basic photo edition, low resolution. It was fine. Few Years ago I started to photograph more seriously than before and I decided that I move to Photoshop, mainly for its much bigger tutorials availability and 16-bit tiff support. This year, after my subscription ran out, I decided that I will try to save some $$ and give Gimp another try. I realised, that after some modifications I can use part of my PS experience inside Gimp and it seems 16-bit support is almost there!

After I forced Gimp 2.8 to recognise my tablet I realised I have problems with performance - precisely speaking, brush lag. I am working on quite big files (up to 24mpix) and when I paint on a layer mask using Wacom tablet I have serious brush lag. I realise that my laptop is quite weak (Pentium 2020M, 8GB ram), but Photoshop didn't have this problem, even when working with 16-bit. Is that normal Gimp behaviour?

Second question - I tried Gimp 2.9 - despite 2 core support it is significantly slower (more lag), and after enabling 16-bit depth it is even worse. Is 2.9 slower than 2.8?

Michael

P.S. I tried to disable rulers. It helped -a bit-.
Well...you might have to go back to using PS. Former use of Gimp 1.2 is really irrevent to present use Wink I go back to Gimp 2.2, things have moved on.

Lets have a few user parameters.

Are you using Windows or Linux? - your user profile lists both.

Quote:After I forced Gimp 2.8 to recognise my tablet

You are using Wacom tablet. Why did you need to force recognition? Can you expand on that? In linux even my ancient Wacom volito is supported. However, could be a problem with Windows.