Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Colors in GIMP Viewport Are More Vibrant Than Actual Image
Hey Guys and Gals,

First time post. Please forgive me if this has been discussed before, but I honestly had no idea what to search for in regards to my issue.

Anyway, I've been using GIMP for about 9 months now, and recently I noticed that my images appear to be much more vibrant or saturated in the GIMP viewport than they do when viewed outside of GIMP. This includes images that have never been opened in GIMP previously. It makes photo editing a little difficult, since what you see isn't going to be equal to what you get.

I doubt it has anything to do with my system, but just in case, I've listed some basic specs of what I'm running below.

GIMP Version: 2.10.32 (Revision 1)
Operating System: Windows 11 (64-bit)
CPU: AMD Ryzen 5900HS
GPU: NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3080 Laptop GPU

Has anyone else experienced this? If so, is there some way to fix it so the color saturation matches inside and outside GIMP?

Thanks in advance!
Lucky13guy
Never experienced this, but a good start might be to take a look at these settings (go to Edit > Preferences), or post the same screenshot in here (there is a Reset button on the top right...)

May be to do first as it's very simple to try out > You can take a look also at Image > Precision > Perceptual gamma (sRGB) or Linear light

Also in Image > Color Management

I can not really comment on your computer hardware or Windows 11 which might have an effect - I do not know.

The usual comment is the other way round, Gimp images not as bright as when viewed with MS Image Viewer, which is known to "enhance" an image whether you want-or-not.

Quote:..snip.. It makes photo editing a little difficult, since what you see isn't going to be equal to what you get.