Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Having major superimpose problems!!
Hi,

Hoping someone can help me with this problem! I am new to Gimp 2.10.30 and I'm trying to superimpose several black and white photos over a bigger one. I followed all the instructions, used "color to alpha" mode on the smaller/superimposed photo, erased all the parts I didn't want included in the photo, opened up both the background photo and superimposed photo as layers...and still it looks like the photo below. As you can see, the superimposed photo is barely visible (all you see are the guy's legs!), and I've tried all sorts of lighting/shadow/opacity fiddling to make it work, to no avail. Can someone please help me fix this?? Thanks!

[Image: 2zmdxk4demv81.png?width=813&format=png&a...8ea3efe5aa]
Possibly because when you used color-to-alpha everything became partly transparent. Color-to-alpha is usually not the right way to extract things from photos. If you extract was on a solid background you can extract it again like this:
  • Use the wand selector to select the background
  • Select ➤ Grow by two pixels so that the selection covers the edge pixels
  • Use Color-to-alpha. It will only apply to the selection and the core of the subject, being un-selected, will remain fully opaque.
Quote:...I followed all the instructions, used "color to alpha" mode on the smaller/superimposed photo, erased all the parts I didn't want included in the photo, opened up both the background photo and superimposed photo as layers..

Who gave those instructions ? It is indeed one way of adding to a base image.

Your problem is the colour-to-alpha (c2a) by default removes all the selected background colour, often white but can be any solid colour. Your image will show transparency (the checker pattern) through the foreground.

With Gimp 2.10 c2a there is an additional slider, Opacity Threshold, adjust that to improve the image.