Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
macOS Colors messed up.
Hey everyone! I've been using GIMP for a couple of years now, and on macOS I have never had any issues. I know macOS Gimp isn't getting updated yet, and hopefully when GIMP 3 comes out the issue will be fixed, but still think I should report it here. I've been using Photoshop for extra things, but Gimp is still my main. But, recently, a major problem has been occurring. When I usually open GIMP, the colors are fine, but after I open a image (not create), they usually look like this.
[Image: moR0hM9.png]
I can change the color, but the pink stays. The original image imports fine, but after that, anything to do with colors goes downhill. Here's a image technically filled with bright red.
[Image: XzDBJHJ.png]
This is really annoying, and I can't find any fix yet. I work with importing multiple images, and working with a lot of layers. This is where it gets even harder.[Image: zifdXIl.png]
Here's the original image, everything appears fine.
[Image: RMVfO63.png]
Here's the image after imported into GIMP. It loses basically all of it's color, but isn't completely black and white. This issue has occured over multiple macOS High Sierra installations and multiple GIMP installations. If anyone knows a temporary fix to this, PLEASE, let me know. Hopefully this will be fixed when the next version of GIMP gets released for macOS.
Mac mini Mid 2011
CPU: 2.5 GHZ Sandy Bridge Intel Core i5-2520M
GPU: AMD Radeon 6630M, 256MB of VRAM
RAM: 8GB DDR3
Best guess for the gray image.  If you add a RGB image to either grayscale or indexed then the RGB image takes the characteristics of the destination image. Solution, change the mode of the destination before adding the image Image -> Mode -> RGB