Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
How to get this effect...
I'm a Gimp novice, so I need some help...

http://www.johngreenbooks.com/ <-- on this author site, on the main page, there's a blue and yellow photo of John Green and I was wondering how I could get an effect like that on my own pictures?? I've messed about with a few things, but they failed badly. Can anyone help me, please? Smile

Thanks in advance.
Choose the correct type of photo. Probably quite dark with lighting on the side of the face.

Set foreground colour to blue, background colour to green. Select the gradient tool and check that gradient is FG to BG (RGB)

Colours > Desaturate. There are 3 options, experiment to see which one works best.

Colours > Map > Gradient Map

Play with contrast etc to get the effect you want.

Others will probably suggest different methods.
Quite simple:
  • Color>Desaturate
  • Set:
    • Foreground color to the color that will replace the darker areas (blue)
    • Background color to the color that will replace the lighter areas (greenish)
    • Gradient to "FG to BG (RGB)"
  • Color>Map>Gradient map
  • Make ellipse selection around face, Select>Invert and Select>Feather heavily (I used 100px in the 400x400px picture)
  • Add transparent layer, and bucket-fill selection

But...

1. A frequent mistake is to believe that this gives good results on any picture. The pictures on which this effect works are pictures with a fairly even spread of luminosity ranges, those where the histogram is rather flat and has no visible spikes.