Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
How to turn off fuzzy selection mask?
I'm new to Gimp and cannot figure out how to get rid of a fuzzy tool selection mask I created (see attached photo).  I've tried various resets and unchecks, and shift-ctrl-A, and even uninstalled and reinstalled Gimp 2.10.  The mask is still there in the new installation.

I believe I was using the fuzzy selection (magic wand) tool so as to select all areas of a photo that are similar in color, so that I could change then all to a single color and then make this color transparent.  The cursor then changed into a dotted map of all these areas.

The problem is that I cannot figure out how to turn off the fuzzy selection map.  If I try to use the clone tool, I still get the fuzzy selection map (which moves around as I move my cursor). 

What I want to get is the usual circular clone cursor for selecting an area and then cloning with it.

I'm sorry if this is an idiot question but sure would appreciate some kind soul telling me what I'm doing wrong.  Thanks in advance for your assistance.

Attached Files Image(s)

A selection does not survive a Select -> None  (shift-ctrl-a) Reinstalling Gimp is never a solution where the problem is the workflow. An active selection is saved in Gimp .xcf format, that is the only way it shows straight away when an image is re-opened.  From the screenshot, the selection originally came from a different layer. Is that pattern "hard-baked" into the image, maybe on one layer.

More information please. Post a screenshot showing layers and tools like this

or if you have the .xcf file, post that.
[attachment=7809][attachment=7809]
Rich,

Thank you for your reply (and the courteous way you requested additional information).