Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
How use a png with a transparent background as a mask
I am trying to add an arrow pointer onto a picture (and plan to do a lot). I have added a png of the arrow, which I know has a transparent background, to a second layer. I have tried to set it up as a mask, but dont understand the finer details - it just stays as a complete rectangle. NB: Have successfully re-sized it & am trying to rotate it. I am new to GIMP, but IT competent.
(02-05-2021, 06:31 PM)daveq Wrote: I am trying to add an arrow pointer onto a picture (and plan to do a lot). I have added a png of the arrow, which I know has a transparent background, to a second layer. I have tried to set it up as a mask, but dont understand the finer details - it just stays as a complete rectangle. NB: Have successfully re-sized it & am trying to rotate it. I am new to GIMP, but IT competent.

I didn't quite understand, if you have an arrow with a transparent background you wouldn't need to create masks.

But anyway to create a mask it would be something like:

1- With the arrow layer selected, click Layer - Transparency - Alpha to Selection
2- Right-click on this layer and in the pop-up that appears choose Add layer mask - then select Selection

On the other hand, I suggest reading the posts at https://www.gimp-forum.net/Thread-Arrow-...1#pid17481 with suggested scripts for creating arrows.
(02-05-2021, 06:54 PM)Krikor Wrote:
(02-05-2021, 06:31 PM)daveq Wrote: I am trying to add an arrow pointer onto a picture (and plan to do a lot). I have added a png of the arrow, which I know has a transparent background, to a second layer. I have tried to set it up as a mask, but dont understand the finer details - it just stays as a complete rectangle. NB: Have successfully re-sized it & am trying to rotate it. I am new to GIMP, but IT competent.

I didn't quite understand, if you have an arrow with a transparent background you wouldn't need to create masks.