Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Issue with paths tool
Hello everyone!

Firstly I would like to clarify that this is not a software issue or a bug. It is my first time using Gimp, and while playing around with the different tools I managed to mess something up and now I cannot use the paths tool. I do not know what exactly I messed up, but now when I select the paths tool and I try to left click (to start making the path), the cursor changes and a prohibition sign is added next to it.
Also, the message on the bottom of the screen reads: "Clicking here does nothing, try clicking on path elements".
This message is shown when I click on the .jpg I have open (I am trying to trace the outline of the sun in the image). 
I know it is something I did, because the paths tool was working as expected the first time I opened an image file.
All other tools and brushes are working fine.

I also attached a screenshot, so that you can see the cursor and the message.

So far I have tried: 
- opening another image
- creating an image from scratch
- trying the paths tool on a new layer
- uninstalling and re-installing gimp
But nothing seems to undo the problem. 

Thank you so much in advance!

Attached Files Thumbnail(s)

(10-31-2022, 11:41 AM)DisAn Wrote: Hello everyone!

Firstly I would like to clarify that this is not a software issue or a bug. It is my first time using Gimp, and while playing around with the different tools I managed to mess something up and now I cannot use the paths tool. I do not know what exactly I messed up, but now when I select the paths tool and I try to left click (to start making the path), the cursor changes and a prohibition sign is added next to it.
Also, the message on the bottom of the screen reads: "Clicking here does nothing, try clicking on path elements".
This message is shown when I click on the .jpg I have open (I am trying to trace the outline of the sun in the image).