Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Pinball Playfield Restoration Question
First, a little background.  I have limited experience with graphics manipulation, but I need to get this figured out for a project I'm working on.

The attached image was scanned from an old pinball playfield that I am restoring.  I have the image saved as a 600 ppi BMP.

The goal is to remove all color except for the black outlines on the car so I can print a waterslide decal of just the black line drawing of the car.  I'll physically repaint the base colors of the car then apply the waterslide decal to add the details back in.

What is the best way to accomplish getting a black and white line drawing?

Thanks in advance.

Attached Files Thumbnail(s)

Something like this: A few ways of attempting an outline

My suggestions:

1. Carfully remove most of the background, either an inverted selection (as shown) and a white fill or just carefully paint in white.
screenshot: http://i.imgur.com/7UCm4su.jpg

2. Filters -> Blur -> Gaussian Blur, a smallish value 10 to 12 This is to smooth out the blemishes in the paint.
screenshot: http://i.imgur.com/9qPbNTn.jpg

3. Colors -> Threshold and carefully pull the slider over to the black (left) side until you get a result. I think 85-90 is good.
screenshot: http://i.imgur.com/0Gj1kJ0.jpg

Still plenty work to do, dive in with a small brush and touch up the remaining blemishes, but it is your masterpiece, take your time.
Thank you so much for this! That looks exactly like what I need.