Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Resize selection made by Ctrl+A
Sorry if this seems a silly question but can someone please explain why, when in rectangle select mode, it isn't possible to use Ctrl+A to select all and then resize the selection from that? No transformation handles are available. Is there a reason for this?
It's not a silly question, it could have be nice to have handles on a Ctrl+A (in few cases only) Wink
Ctrl+A = "Select All" and is not dependent of the selected tool, thus the feeling that Ctrl+A = "Select All + Enter"
Ctrl+A works on all your Windows OS (Linux it's the same, Mac is similar witth CMD+A), it works on/in your folders, it works in your browser, it works pretty much everywhere on any-app with the very same behaviour.

Next is pure allegation, I'm no programmer ➤ So it's (maybe) a mitigation to behave that way as it's also an operating system command, and people will expect to behave that way. But I'm more whiling to believe it's taken directly from the OS or desktop environment like the Ctrl+X/C/V.
(04-06-2022, 02:09 AM)PixLab Wrote: It's not a silly question, it could have be nice to have handles on a Ctrl+A (in few cases only) Wink
Ctrl+A = "Select All" and is not dependent of the selected tool, thus the feeling that Ctrl+A = "Select All + Enter"
Ctrl+A works on all your Windows OS (Linux it's the same, Mac is similar witth CMD+A), it works on/in your folders, it works in your browser, it works pretty much everywhere on any-app with the very same behaviour.

Next is pure allegation, I'm no programmer ➤ So it's (maybe) a mitigation to behave that way as it's also an operating system command, and people will expect to behave that way. But I'm more whiling to believe it's taken directly from the OS or desktop environment like the Ctrl+X/C/V.