Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
Seeking Guidance RE Digitizing of Old Book
Question 
I'm trying to digitize an old Russian-language book, to put it up on Google Books and similar platforms, for open access.

Increasing the contrast by 50 (under Colors/Brightness-Contrast) seems to help with readability.

A sample of the unaltered version has been uploaded here
A sample of the same page, with contrast increased by 50 has been uploaded here.

I'm seeking advice as to whether (a) the version with the contrast increased is indeed more readable and (b) there would be a better way of changing the image, to maximize readability—or have I likely hit the sweet spot?

Any feedback/suggestions would be most appreciated. I'm a novice with regard to Gimp and similar programs.
Yes, more readable.

Since the color balance isn't perfect, you get a yellow cast when you push contrast, so you should transform the image to black and white (Color>Desaturate).

Otherwise, a better technique

1. Desaturate the image (Color>Desaturate)
  2. Use the color picker to set the background color from an area on the page (typically, a margin)
  3. Decompose the image use Filters>Enhance>Wavelet decompose. The Residual layer at the bottom shows the non-uniform lighting of the page
  4. Bucket-fill that Residual with the color you sampled at step 2)
  5. You can increase the sharpness of the characters by duplicating the top layer(s) (Scale 1, Scale 2). At that point adding contrast may be unnecessary.
  6. If you want to add contrast, create a layer with Layer>New from visible and drag it to the top (you can also use Image>Flatten image) and work on that., but you'll need much less contrast.

Another option is first desaturate  (Colours / Desaturate / Desaturate)
Then (Filters / Artistic / Photocopy):

1) Desaturate

2) GMIC > Repair > Repair Scanned Document

3) Colours > Curves

4) Perspective

5) Scale (stretch horizontally)

6) Crop