Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Some kind of split layer?
Hi, I am a total noob outside of a couple of very simple repeated operations. Now I have ended up trying to work on an image I didn't start, and I can't figure out whats going wrong: I have a single layer containing both figures and a background. I can move my own picture into the image, and it covers the background with the figures showing up in front of it. So far, so good. But now I want to remove a couple of the figures, and that has proven frustrating. If I try to make the figures transparent, all I get is transparent pixels in the shape of the figure. The underlying picture does not show up. If I check the background, it is all cut out in a rectangle no problem.

It really feels like I am trying to work on two different layers, but can only see one. 

Here, I have unlocked the alpha channel and done a rectangular cut to remove one of the figures: The outline of the figure remains, while a rectangle space is cut out from the background -which is on the same layer as the figure. The mostly dark section is what I have inserted and it is supposed to be showing in the transparent pixels. As you can see, the background is not showing up. I can raise the background up, but then it covers the rest of the figures.

Attached Files Image(s)

Are all layers modes set to "Normal"?
I can't picture out what you're trying to explain,
Please post a screenshot of your layer stack (like the one below) but name each layer with the layer mode and opacity percentage

or even better put the .xcf in a zip and upload it
Ok, yes I can see that is confusing. The layer mode is normal and the opacity 100%. I'll explain why it doesn't help to alter it. The backstory is, I bought a fancy character sheet online, but its for 5th ed, and I want to alter it to 3.5/pathfinder. I can hadle most operations on the way, but I've run into this one issue.

I am uploading an image of the layer stack: