Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Stain removal suggestions needed
Hello all. I've been looking all over and trying different things but haven't had much success so I'm looking for some ideas. As a photo restoration rookie I'm out of ideas.
   Does anyone know of a way to remove the stain from the attached photo? I'm thinking there should be a way to remove whatever color that is overlaying the actual various colors under the stain.

Attached Files Thumbnail(s)

(03-25-2024, 03:29 PM)Danbor Wrote: Hello all. I've been looking all over and trying different things but haven't had much success so I'm looking for some ideas. As a photo restoration rookie I'm out of ideas.
   Does anyone know of a way to remove the stain from the attached photo? I'm thinking there should be a way to remove whatever color that is overlaying the actual various colors under the stain.

At the moment I can only remember to suggest the following reading: 

Stain Removal by Pat David

https://patdavid.net/2014/07/wavelet-dec...in-removal

I hope it can be useful.
Samj PortableGimp 2.10.28 - Win-10 /64.
(03-25-2024, 08:02 PM)Krikor Wrote: At the moment I can only remember to suggest the following reading: 

Stain Removal by Pat David

https://patdavid.net/2014/07/wavelet-dec...in-removal

I hope it can be useful.

Thanks. Interesting, but it didn't help in this application.

Update on my attempts and questions ...
I'm trying to remove the amber stain on this image. I've had some success in spots by using the free select tool to select an area, then adjusting the selection with the hue chroma tool mainly, among others, with varied results.
As I'm new to image editing as a whole as well as new to Gimp, I've a question that probably has already been asked, but here goes. Sorry for the length of the question but I don't know the terminology for the short version. Smile