Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Swapping image within selection
Hi all

Super super newbie to GIMP here - I have some experience with QuarkXPress though.

Apologies for the question if the answer is really obvious - have read the manual, searched on a couple of forums, but I'm a bit pushed for time

I've created a selection (I'm working with a circle today, designing a 12" vinyl sticker) with an image inside, and created a mask so I only see what's inside the circle, but my question is: how do I then import a different image inside the circular selection? I'm looking to do this a few times to see how various images look, and the only way I've been able to do it so far is to create a new selection each time I import an image/layer. Otherwise I can't seem to scale the image and move it around within the selection without it being cropped at the circular selection point.

In Quark it was very easy to do, so hoping there's an answer to this. 

Thanks in advance!
Forget how things work in any other application. Gimp has its own way and a steep learning curve.

You say you have a mask? Until you get used to Gimp anything that you need to see inside the mask is best on separate layers. These need to be under the layer with the mask. You can open some other image into existing with 'File -> Open as Layers'

Something like this

[Image: k5vQVpn.jpg]

What you need to know.
The move tool pick on the first solid pixel it comes across. Make sure you pick a solid pixel or enable move the active layer in the tool options.
The yellow dotted line is the original layer boundary, darker line is as being moved. The active layer will be highlighted.
Want to try out different arrangements, Add as many layers as you need. Toggle visibility on/off with the 'eye' icon in the layer dock.

Same image moving the other layer: https://i.imgur.com/LWr7TRX.jpg