Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
TWAIN problem
TWAIN problem

Hi, I've tried to open an image via TWAIN and received the following error message > Cx1magicU.dll not found. I'm fairly new to Gimp but everything else seems to be working fine. Does anyone know if this may be a problem with my installation or have I missed something in setting up TWAIN in Gimp? My TWAIN device works properly with my other imaging programs (Paintshop Pro and Photoshop, both old versions) so I don't think that can be an issue. Thanks, Dave H

Gimp version 2.8.22
Win XP
Welcome to gimp-forum.net

I think this might be difficult to solve at a distance. Which make of scanner? That file is not part of Gimp. Can you take a screenshot of the actual error message and post it somewhere.

If the appropriate twain drivers are installed, Gimp should pick up the scanner: This is a Canon scanner so old that it only works in XP (or linux ). File -> Create -> Scanner/Camera should show like this

[Image: NIW4DMT.jpg]

It could be that Gimp 2.8.22 twain files are too recent for a 32 bit OS as WinXP. The installer package does install the 32 bit version but.... The Gimp twain file is a plug-in same as most of Gimp

Looking at twain.exe from Gimp 2.8.4 (WinXP) that is 39,644B and Gimp 2.8.22 (Win7 32 bit) 42,056 so there is a difference there.

Sorry, not much help.
Photo 
[quote pid='4916' dateline='1514821771']
  1. rich2005
  2. Welcome to gimp-forum.net
I think this might be difficult to solve at a distance. Which make of scanner? That file is not part of Gimp. Can you take a screenshot of the actual error message and post it somewhere.

If the appropriate twain drivers are installed, Gimp should pick up the scanner: This is a Canon scanner so old that it only works in XP (or linux ). File -> Create -> Scanner/Camera should show like this

[Image: NIW4DMT.jpg]