Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Text around circle
I am new to Gimp and its taking a while to get used to it. I have managed to learn how to wrap text around a circle, however it is baffling me when sometimes the TEXT THAT GOES AROUND THE PATH IS EITHER OUTSIDE THE ELLIPSE CIRCLE IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ELLIPSE CIRCLE OR OUTSIDE THE ELLIPSE CIRCLE. I have watched many tutorials and not one of them mentions this...

Is there anyone on here who could help ?
Gimp has more than one method to wrap text around a circle. You don't say which method you are using. Please give details.

The method that I like is the Ofnuts Text Along A Path. It is available here:
https://sourceforge.net/projects/gimp-pa...s/scripts/
(About 4th one down)

Note that a path has a direction. This affects how the text is applied to the path. For a circle, you can flip the path vertically which effectively changes its direction. Otherwise Ofnuts has some path tools which includes Reverse Strokes.
It also depends if there is a 'newline' (the enter key to make a newline) either before or after the text.

Throws the text either under or over the path.

(07-26-2018, 07:12 PM)Blighty Wrote: Gimp has more than one method to wrap text around a circle. You don't say which method you are using. Please give details.

The method that I like is the Ofnuts Text Along A Path. It is available here:
https://sourceforge.net/projects/gimp-pa...s/scripts/
(About 4th one down)

Note that a path has a direction. This affects how the text is applied to the path. For a circle, you can flip the path vertically which effectively changes its direction. Otherwise Ofnuts has some path tools which includes Reverse Strokes.Th
THanks ill check Ofnuts out

(07-26-2018, 07:22 PM)rich2005 Wrote: It also depends if there is a 'newline' (the enter key to make a newline) either before or after the text.

Throws the text either under or over the path.