Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Thinning out lines?
Hi everyone! I'm fairly new to gimp.

So, I want to make the lines of this diamond render thinner than they are.

[Image: cRFRJyQ.png]

I'm planning to use it as a border for another image, so really the thinnest line possible would be great. I've tried using the eraser, but it ends up being uneven. I've also tried just using different selection tools so I could cut it, but I can't find one that will select it in the shape I need (ie not in a horizontal rectangle/circle).

Any help would be greatly appreciated Big Grin
You will get the best possible quality result by drawing a path and then stroking the path. Even with very thin, or curved lines.

Its possible to use a filter like Generic -> Dilate or G'MIC Morphological, but stroking a path is what i would strongly recommend !
Yes, making  a diamond takes a few seconds, so better do your own diamond from scratch using paths.
@Espermaschine

How would you make lines thinner by stroking path? You would reduce selection then and hit "Del" key or you would do the opposite of "Grow" (if that's possible) and then reduce selection by a few pixels from edges, do invert selection and hit "Del" key?
(01-23-2018, 10:34 AM)TechnicGeek Wrote: @Espermaschine

How would you make lines thinner by stroking path? You would reduce selection then and hit "Del" key or you would do the opposite of "Grow" (if that's possible) and then reduce selection by a few pixels from edges, do invert selection and hit "Del" key?

You create  a path (perhaps using the old image as a template)(four clicks...), add a new layer, stroke the path on that new layer, and discard the initial image.

This gives you plenty of options, such as thickness of the line, color, sharp or round summits...
Yeah, thats a misunderstanding. You dont make the existing lines thinner by stroking a path.

Some beginners seem to think its a good idea to dabble around with Gimp and then fix what they have done.