Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Trouble Creating New Fonts (- Brush)
This is my first time trying to create a custom crush and I can't seem to get this thing to export to my brushes folder no matter what I do.

It is in greyscale.

It is not transparent.

I flattened the image.

I am adding it to a folder that is selected in my font preferences.

I am trying to save it as a .gbr

Truly, I have no idea what I'm doing wrong. I've looked at about 100 posts and all of them list something I've tried as the solution. Clearly, I'm missing something but I have no idea what.

Thanks for any help.

Error Messages:

Execution error for procedure 'file-gbr-save-internal':

Error opening file “C:\Program Files\GIMP 2\share\gimp\2.0\brushes\heart.gbr”: Permission denied

Saving 'C:\Program Files\GIMP 2\share\gimp\2.0\brushes\heart.gbr' failed:

Running procedure 'file-gbr-save-internal' failed: Error opening file “C:\Program Files\GIMP 2\share\gimp\2.0\brushes\heart.gbr”: Permission denied

Attached Files Thumbnail(s)

Font or brush? A GBR is a brush, and AFAIK you can't create a font in Gimp.

You are trying to save the file to a protected part of the file system (C:\Program files...). You would need to run Gimp as an admin for this.  But this isn't necessay, the right place to save your file is your user profile:
  • Go to Edit ➤ Preferences ➤ Folders ➤ Brushes
  • This list two folders, one in C:\Program files (system folders) and one in your user profile (from memory C:\Users\{your id}\Appdata\Roaming\..... This is where the file should be saved.
  • As an alternative, you can also save the file in some different folder and add it to the list above.
Putting the brush in your own user data also means that it is more likely to be backed up and less likely to be wiped out if your reinstall Gimp.