Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
levels "clamp input/ output" question
Afternoon,

Newbie here, what do the clamp input/ output tick boxes do in levels? I cannot see a difference on a 16 bit raw to tiff image that I play around with from time to time, ticking and unticking the input checkbox and looking at the preview histogram.

https://docs.gimp.org/2.10/en/gimp-tool-levels.html has no information and 

clamp input has the mouseover text "Clamp input values before applying output mapping" and Clamp output has "Clamp final output  values", both message seem to suggest that I am missing some critical piece of knowledge. I am aware the histogram is a representation on the tones or colours in an image and that levels alter the relative values on a mathematical way to alter the proportion of said tones to the human eye (as the computer does not care if big chunks and posterised splits appear in the histogram), but what is being clamped to what?

Philip.
I will bump this post.

I do not know the answer except from a search.

https://gitlab.gnome.org/GNOME/gimp/commit/dce93c7d7e012ba9b85766e13d4f6dd62e21ec8d
Bug 762443 - Levels tool Output Level sliders works incorrectly
Add "clamp-input" (which clamps the input values to [0..1])
and "clamp-output" (which clips the final result to [0..1]),

Which reverts to Gimp 2.8 usage

.... and from this old post: https://www.gimpusers.com/forums/gimp-de...-light-rgb

Will the user see out of gamut (that is, out of the sRGB color space's gamut) RGB values expressed as RGB values that are less than 0.0 and/or greater than 1.0?

Yes. There is one complication: Users have the ability to choose to edit in different bitdepths, so the integer bitdepths will be clipped.

Quote:...I cannot see a difference on a 16 bit raw to tiff image that I play around with from time to time, ticking and unticking the input checkbox and looking at the preview histogram.

Maybe your image does not have any out-of-gamut colours.