Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
making a 'spokes on a wheel' design
EDIT - after posting, I realized I posted to the wrong forum.  I'll try to contact the Admins to get it moved/removed.

Hi all, I'm using GIMP 2.10.8  on  Mac 0S Sierra 10.12.2.  

How can I create a series of lines that radiate from the canvas center, and mark out equal segments of a circle? (I've put in place a horizontal and vertical guide, with the snap to guides turned on)

I've drawn two line segments, one that crosses the center of the canvas, and one that begins in the center of the canvas.  But the rotate tool is based on a point in the center of my line segment.  

ps - there is a video that shows how to do something like this, but there is no sound (!) and my eyes aren't good enough to see what s/he is actually doing. (I hope in this case it's ok I'm posting a link, I think it's the best way to explain)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aN856eOx71k

Thank you very much
Hikaru

(I have some experience using photoshop, and I've made a flyer and a business card so far with GIMP.)
Try this simple script. Similar to your referenced video it uses paths, Some time in your project these need stroking on a layer to produce a graphic.

However a couple of very short demos. Since this is script-fu no automatic merging of paths, you need to right-click and merge visible. (shift-click on an 'eye-bal' to toggle all visibility)l 

Edit: just seen your Edit - now using Gimp 2.10 - no problem, the following is in Gimp 2.8 but exactly the same in Gimp 2.10

https://i.imgur.com/vFqf0ZL.mp4   and    https://i.imgur.com/XzGHvY8.mp4  (Even if you can see these too well, the script dialogue is self-evident.)

Unzip the attachment. PathRotator2.scm
MacOS and scripts ? I think these go in /Users/MyName/Library/Application Support/Gimp/2.10/scripts
You might have to make the scripts folder yourself.

edit: attachment modified for 400 maximum

Attached Files