Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
new download 2.10 & G'Mic crash
Hi.
 I need a geek. First off I have to admit I'm no techie. I'm a newbie with using Windows 10 after many years using windows 7. THere are many things i just don't understand yet about W10, but one of the first things I need to install is GIMP with G'mic.
Gimp downloaded fine and then I downloaded G'Mic. I went to the preferences folder - plug-ins to show GIMP the path to G'mic, which you can see in the image I'm posting. Everything seemed to go well until I tried to use G'mic. G'mic started to load but then this happened. I hoped it was just a small glitch but after closing and retrying several times, & uninstalling and re-installing both GIMP & G'mic, I still got this response every time.
[Image: nZDQDl.png]
 I hope someone knows what I did wrong and can help me get back in the swing. Thank you Smile
Quote:...after closing and retrying several times, & uninstalling and re-installing both GIMP & G'mic, I still got this response every time...

Very-very rarely need to re-install over and over again. The problem is often in the Gimp profile. Start afresh and create a new default Gimp 2.10 profile.

1. Did you have an existing Gimp 2.8 installation? If you did disable by renaming it say, C:\Users\your name\.gimp-2.8 to C:\Users\your name\.gimp-2.8-bakup.

2. Delete the whole of the Gimp 2.10 profile C:\Users\your-name\AppData\Roaming\GIMP\2.10\

3. Run Gimp 2.10 to create a new empty Gimp 2.10 profile.

Quote:...and then I downloaded G'Mic. I went to the preferences folder - plug-ins to show GIMP the path to G'mic, which you can see in the image I'm posting....

No longer any need to mess around adding paths. For a standard Gimp from gimp.org the gmic installer puts it in plugins folder and Gimp 2.10 recognises it from the naming convention. (folder name same as plugin name)