Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
pencial sketch printing as blue instead of grey
I had an artist make me a drawing in pencil. She scanned it in and created a png file of it in photoshop. I opened it in Gimp and accepted the default conversion.  When it opens, it looks like it should on the screen.  But when i print it out, it prints in shades of blue instead of grey.  When i open it in windows picture manager and print it on the same printer, it prints properly (shades of grey).  Is there something else i need to do to get Gimp to print it appropriately?  My apologies, as I am very new to Gimp.

TIA!
Possibly a profile issue.

When you open  the scan in Gimp you see something like this ? Which one do you consider default quote: I opened it in Gimp and accepted the default conversion.

Do you Keep or Convert ? Which ever one you use try the other one.

Alternative:
A foolproof way (unless the printer has run out of black ink or you want some coloured parts) is convert the image to grayscale 
Use  Image -> Mode -> Greyscale

Edit:

I once had a Canon inkjet printer that refused to use black ink when printing from Gimp. Black can theoretically mix from cyan + magenta + yellow but in practice with the Canon, came out a shade of brown.

However something else to check.
The Gimp Windows Print plugin is only a front end for your printer software.

Have a look in the Print set up for Preferences which takes you to your printer interface and there might be a greyscale setting somewhere.
(07-10-2021, 06:53 PM)rich2005 Wrote: Possibly a profile issue.

When you open  the scan in Gimp you see something like this ? Which one do you consider default quote: I opened it in Gimp and accepted the default conversion.

Do you Keep or Convert ? Which ever one you use try the other one.

Alternative:
A foolproof way (unless the printer has run out of black ink or you want some coloured parts) is convert the image to grayscale 
Use  Image -> Mode -> Greyscale

Edit: