Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
print business card
Hi there, I'm new to Gimp and to this forum, I've been doing Gimp for about a month now and although I didn't understand it in the beginning it's really quite user friendly, BTW. I use 2.8 

anyway I ran into a problem making mine own homemade business-cards, and that is that the front and the back do not perfectly overlap when printed.

I'm trying to push everything a little bit by chance and then hoping for the best, using a lot of draft paper, but it's still off by about 2 mm on the print.

I see one solution would be to make a larger bleeding area, as of now I have zero bleeding area, but I would rather like to understand how to make a perfect overlap.

more specifically: Horizontally the overlap seems perfect; Vertically it's off by 2 mm 

also I discovered that when you print the front and then turn the paper around and put it back in the printer everything turns opposite so that what was printed on the left side of the paper is now printed on the right side.

Thanks,

[Image: smile.gif]

Wrenchman
welcome to gimp-forum.net

Are you using pre-cut sheets (eventually after your trial prints Wink ) If you are then there should be a template provided with dimensions.

You want to be printing at 300 ppi - There is an A4 standard template already in Gimp. Converting to metric can be a nuisance 300 ppi = 11.811 pix per mm

What you could try is set the template on a transparent layers. One layer for the front and one for the back.

Front might look like this: https://i.imgur.com/TFWAfsm.jpg

The back is just the front copied and flipped horizontally using the flip tool: https://i.imgur.com/tZnvlGv.jpg

When it comes to printing, top is still the top.

With the best will in the world, there will be a mismatch depending on how your printer takes up the paper.

Not so much a bleed area required as a safe-area about 3 mm inside the card perimeter for text and logos.