Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
union two or more layers without duplication?
I have searched around and only found how to union selection on the same layer, how do you do it on different layers without duplicating the layers, if you understand me? Wink  

Im using tiles to create a larger image and overlapping the layers where they match.  Im new to this, so there is probably a better way to do this.  But for now this is it.  After i match up the layers, i want to combine them without the image becoming more opaque/darker where they overlap.  

Thank you
(08-12-2019, 11:51 PM)Human3 Wrote: After i match up the layers, i want to combine them without the image becoming more opaque/darker where they overlap.

Some questions:
1) Is the layer mode set to Normal or something else?
2) Is the layer opacity set to 100% or a lower value?
3) Do the layers have semi-transparency in them?
1. yes normal
2. 100% opacity
3. When i overlap the one on top of the other, i can see that it is darker in the 'transparent' areas.  Which leads me to believe they are semi transparent between the solid, colored (gray) areas.  The image im using is from a brush, stamped once, in each layer up, and moved to match each others boundary, easy on the first row, now on the second i must overlap them on that first row, thus i only want one copy when done?    Perhaps gimp doesnt have a way to do that between layers?  I know my silhouette software can do the union and i thought gimp would be able to also.  Not sure if Inkscape can.
(08-13-2019, 06:18 AM)Human3 Wrote: Which leads me to believe they are semi transparent between the solid, colored (gray) areas.
Yes, I agree. Those areas would not get darker if they were completely transparent. You can check it with the Pointer  Windows > Dockable Dialogues > Pointer