Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Paths Tool not working
Hi All,
I have watched the video on tracing I click on the paths button, I start my outline however nothing happens. I don't see any dots?  Am I missing something?  I am a newbie have have not used gimp that much,  I am sorry to be such a dummy but this is all new to me???  Can someone explain what I am doing wrong or give me a link to a tutorial that shows you step by step?  I only learn by doing so any explanation or video will help.  I greatly appreciate any help in this matter, ps I have gimp 2.10.8.

Thank you
[Image: huh.png]

Attached Files Image(s)

Try this one: https://youtu.be/cB7YVsYQ51M 5 minutes

come back with questions
(12-17-2018, 10:44 AM)rich2005 Wrote: Try this one: https://youtu.be/cB7YVsYQ51M 5 minutes

come back with questions

Hi Rich,

I have traced items before, but now when I click on the paths tool, nothing happens I never get any points showing? I watched you video and followed what you did, but nothing happen?  Please advise, do I need to uninstall and re-install? 

Thank you
Lori Huh Huh Huh
I see from an earlier post Windows 10 / Gimp 2.10

Have you checked the 'mode' do you get anything like this, where it is disabled?

Very rarely does reinstalling Gimp make any difference, all the settings are held in the Gimp profile.

C:\Users\"yourname"\AppData\Roaming\GIMP\2.10\  Rename that to disable it and start Gimp up to make a new default profile.

See if the path tool works with a 'blank' canvas. If it does work, start (slowly) moving resources, brushes plugins scripts, over from the old profile checking that all is working as you go.
Hi Rich,
I figured it out, when I clicked on my paths tool it was checked for edit, I need the design. thank you

Lori