Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Adobe Photoshop vs Gimp
Can projects that I can with Photoshop done with Gimp?
I learned from another forum.
Someone told me :

" Degrade and GFX ( I don't know what they are really) in Photoshop is not in Gimp and they are important.

Are they really important and Is Gimp good much like Photoshop?

Thank you.

My english is bad and so pls write in simple lang Rolleyes
Gimp is every bit as good for 99.9% of people as Photoshop is.  In the few areas where Photoshop is more advanced than Gimp, like opening RAW files, non-destructive editing, etc..., Gimp will have those features in a short amount of time when the next big release of Gimp comes out.

I'm no expert on the pro's and con's of each one but, you can type Gimp vs. Photoshop into a search engine and get a thousand articles written about it and it will give you a much better understanding than I could.
(05-30-2021, 08:28 PM)cnrtechspot.com Wrote: Someone told me :

" Degrade and GFX ( I don't know what they are really) in Photoshop is not in Gimp and they are important.

Are they really important and Is Gimp good much like Photoshop?
Be careful about fan boys/girls pseudo arguments (both side), and this is a pseudo argument!
I did a quick search about GFX, it seems to be the Photoshop's engine for filters and others effects(I might be wrong, though), you can safely say that Photoshop does not have GEGL, but GIMP has it.
On both side, those "arguments" do not make ANY sense!

Two things you need to know:
1) GIMP has few limitations compared to Photoshop, for instance it has no mesh tool like in Photoshop or Krita, but this tool can be over come with G'MIC (gmic.eu) or other plugins, or even with some GIMP filters like the "Curves Bend...". It's not perfect, though, but the job can be done.