Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Layer Mode: Addition equation is working differently to official guide
Hi, I'm a newbie and using GIMP(2.10.36) on Mac for several months. I have a question about Layer Mode: Addition.

According to the official guide, the Addition equation is "The pixel values of the upper and lower layers are added to each other. The resulting image is usually lighter."

So I made my own example to make sure this equation.

[Image: 2024-03-07_04-25-30-7bd241c35c31532650ca...0238e7.png]

[Image: 2024-03-07_04-25-30-446547fafc72833db53c...d39bdc.jpg]
1. Top Layer(RGB Red): 227.0 
2. Bottom Layer(RGB Red): 53.0
3. Resulting Image(RGB Red): 232.0

As far as I know, the Addition equation would be "E = min((M + I), 255)". According to the equation, "E = min((227.0  + 53.0), 255)" should yield 255. However, I got 232.0 as a result. Why does it happen?

Attached Files
.xcf   layer_mode-lighten-05-addition_color_examples-02(en).xcf (Size: 98.8 KB / Downloads: 58)
No, because Gimp 2.10 is working in "Linear light". 

The 0 .. 255 values are gamma-corrected. In other words,they don't represent directly the amount  of light in the color channel, but some encoding which is convenient to pack as much as possible of the visual range in 255 values, taking in consideration that our eyes are more sensitives to differences in low values.

If you image is in some high precision linear mode, you can check the linear value with the Pixel representation in the Pointer and Sample points dialog

In theory this would mean:

Linear = ( RGB255 / 255 ) ^ 2.2

and

RGB255 = 255 * ( Linear ^ ( 1 / 2.2 ) )

In practice the conversion is done using the image color profile but if the color profile is sRGB (which is the case most of the time), the formulas above give a good approximation.

For instance your top color:

So Addition mode  is really "Convert to Linear, add the values, convert back to RGB255", and using the formulas you are not so far off: