Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Venetian blind effect
HI everyone,

I am both new to this forum, and new to gimp/photo shop, and am in a bit of a pickle.
I have been asked to edit a couple of pictures in a particular way which has me kind of lost. Essentially I have been asked to serrate the image into vertical strips or columns of a particular pixel width.
There are two pics, L1 and R1. These are to be cut into vertical strips (say 100 strips but this will change) and laid out left pic strip 1, then right picture strip 1, then left picture strip 2, right picture strip 2, L3 then R3, L4 then R4 etc etc. Like a vertical blind.

However, a gap (or black strip - B) of a particular pixel width between each strip is also necessary. So it will run L1 then B then R1, L2 then B then R2, L3 then B then R3 etc etc. 

Apologies if this turns out to be a very simple or idiotic question, but I am very new to this. Steep learning curve I expect.

Something akin to the image below, with the white stripes being replaced with black stripes.

Attached Files Thumbnail(s)

With my ofn-shred-layer script you shred each image, and then combine the two shredded image using them as layers (you shift the top one). Then you add a brackground layer if necessary.

Edit: Ninja'd again by the plugin author. There might be someting of use in this litte example.

------------------------
Something like this ? 40 second demo https://i.imgur.com/ARfHEb2.mp4

This is using one of Ofnuts plugins shred-layer.py from http://sourceforge.net/projects/gimp-too...s/scripts/ Look for ofn-shred-layer.zip dated 2017-11-29

There is one caveate: the image has to be a multiple of the strip size. You might have to add some padding and crop that out at the end.
Otherwise it is apply to each image
Stack the shredded images as layers
Move one of the layers to suit
Image -> Fit layers to canvas might be required
Merge layers if required.
Guys,